BACHELOR

Entwurf: 8/StS 06/V:A / 39

Studio Raum II focuses on institutional spaces. How do these spaces embody social rituals and rules and how are the latter formalized with their help? The institutional context of Karlsruhe provides the framework: BGH/KIT/BST/ZKM/HFG/BVG.

In the current semester, the studio focuses on the institution of the Archive and in particular on its ambivalent character as a hermetically sealed storage-space and as a public infrastructure.

The State Archive, the vessel of our cumulative memory, stores material from authorities, courts and their functional predecessors and makes it publicly accessible for unlimited time. The oldest documents in the State Archive Baden-Württemberg are medieval charters from the 9th century. Since then, the archive material has been growing exponentially and requires more and more storage space. Today, the State Archive stores approximately 320 shelf-kilometers of parchment and paper. At the same time, the archive is confronted with increasing digitalization, which promises the protection of valuable unique items as well as their access from anywhere ant any time.

The studio takes on the challenges of the current exponential growth of analog archival materials and the inherent promises of its digitalization in order to sound out the future social relevance of the archive as a public infrastructure.

MASTER

Seminar: SHAPE GRAMMARS

Shape Grammars are rule-based instructions. On the one hand, they enable the description and analysis of spatial relations and conditions. In addition, they also form the basis for generative spatial processes. In the seminar we will take different existing approaches to Shape Grammars and project them onto selected canonical floor plans. Among other things, we will address the question of whether shape grammar can reveal unifying structural principles behind the apparent heterogeneity of different apartment floor plans, and which shape grammar is best suited to make apartment floor plans structurally descriptive

BACHELOR

Entwurf: 8/StS 06/V:A / 39

Studio Raum II setzt sich mit institutionellen Räumen auseinander. Wie verkörpern diese gesellschaftliche Rituale und Regeln und wie werden letztere mit ihrer Hilfe formalisiert? Der institutionelle Kontext Karlsruhes bildet den Rahmen: BGH/KIT/BST/ZKM/HFG/BVG.

Im aktuellen Semester setzt sich das Studio mit der Institution des Archivs auseinander. Es fokussiert dabei insbesondere auf seinen ambivalenten Charakter als hermetisch abgeschlossener Raum des Aufbewahrens und als öffentliche Infrastruktur.

Das Landesarchiv, Gefäß unseres kumulativen Gedächtnisses, verwahrt Material von Behörden, Gerichten und deren Funktionsvorgängern und macht das Archivgut allgemein und zeitlich unbegrenzt zugänglich. Die ältesten Dokumente im Landesarchiv Baden-Württemberg sind mittelalterliche Urkunden aus dem 9. Jahrhundert. Seitdem wächst das Archivgut exponentiell und bedarf immer größerer Speicherfläche. So bewahrt das Landesarchiv heute circa 320 Regalkilometer Pergament und Papier auf. Gleichzeitig wird das Archiv mit der zunehmenden Digitalisierung konfrontiert, die den Schutz der wertvollen Unikate, sowie deren orts- und zeitunabhängigen Zugang verspricht.

Das Studio nimmt die Herausforderungen des aktuell exponentiellen Wachstums des analogen Archivguts und die der Digitalisierung innenwohnenden Versprechungen an, um die zukünftige gesellschaftliche Relevanz des Archivs als öffentliche Infrastuktur neu auszuloten.

MASTER

Seminar: SHAPE GRAMMARS

Shape Grammars sind regelbasierte Instruktionen. Sie ermöglichen einerseits die Beschreibung und Analyse von räumlichen Zusammenhänge und Verhältnissen. Darüber hinaus bilden sie auch die Grundlage für generative raumbildende Prozesse.

Im Rahmen des Seminars werden wir unterschiedliche existierende Ansätze für Shape Grammars aufgreifen und sie auf ausgewählte kanonische Geschosswohnungsgrundrisse projizieren. Wir werden uns unter anderem mit der Frage auseinander setzen, ob die Shape Grammars hinter der augenscheinlichen Heterogenität der unterschiedlichen Wohnbaugrundrisse verbindende strukturelle Prinzipien aufdecken können und welche Shape Grammars sich am besten eignen, um Wohnungsbaugrundrisse strukturell beschreibbar zu machen.